Scottish Youth Parliament 2013

SYP Logo


The Scottish Youth Parliament is the democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people. It is a young people’s parliament, designed by young people and led by young people for the benefit of young people. They are committed to ensuring young people are heard by the decision makers of Scotland and are determined to campaign on the issues which matter most to Scotland’s youth.

In March this year, elections were held to elect new members of the Scottish Youth Parliament and Youth Council. Bishopbriggs Academy had three candidates standing for election in the Strathkelvin and Bearsden constituency. They were Struan Johnston, Susan Sutherland and John Tait who are all fifth year pupils. Over 96% of all pupils in Bishopbriggs Academy cast their vote on Monday 11th March.  Pupils vote online using the Single Transferable Vote system where pupils list their choice of candidate in order of preference. 

On Friday 15th March the results were announced.  Congratualtions to John and Struan who were elected to join the East Dunbartonshire Council Youth Council.


To read our candidates' manifestos, click on the photographs below.

Struan Johnston Susan Sutherland John Tait

(Photographs courtesy of the Scottish Youth Parliament)

The photographs below show our young people voting on 11th March 2013.

Scottish Youth Parliament 1     Scottish Youth Parliament 2     Scottish Youth Parliament 3

Scottish Youth Parliament 4     Scottish Youth Parliament 5     Scottish Youth Parliament 6

For further information on the Scottish Youth Parliament, click here.