Galaxy of Stars 2016 - 17

Galaxy of Stars

We at Bishopbriggs Academy strive to ensure the highest quality of support is in place for our young people in their academic studies. However we also pride ourselves in the huge range and wide variety of extra-curricular opportunities we provide for our pupils.

We believe in the importance of encouraging, developing and celebrating all talents and achievements. In the last year a great number of our pupils have excelled themselves in a variety of different fields.


In no particular order, the major successes include:

Emma Connelly and Erin Gribbon who represented Argyll & Bute at netball in September 2016.

At the International German Debate in September 2016 the Bishopbriggs Academy Team, comprising Sophie MacDonald S5, Andrew MacPherson S6, Katie McGinniss, S6 and Zoe Roy S6 beat the Dutch team and went through to round 2 in Dublin and were then invited to be in the audience for the final in Hamburg.
Caitlin Devenny, Kenzi Murray, Lauren Fox, Marisa Silvestro, Christy Harte, Eilidh Sutherland, Bella Kalfa, Lauren Vallely, Sarah Logan, Abby Weir and Becky McEwan were nominated for the Scottish Dementia Awards in September 2016 for their work with residents of Mavis Bank Care Home for past two years.  In addition, the girls, along with Beth McKay and Morgan Gibson received a Diana Award at the Emirates Arena in December 2016.
S6 pupil, Angus Semple was awarded the Peter Buchanan Award for Personal Endeavour by East Dunbartonshire Council in November 2016.
Jacob Currie, S6 won first prize for the Outstanding Photography Award at the National Annual Small Works Exhibition at the Glasgow Art Club which is for both Art and Design and Photography.  
In the Junk Kouture Competition S3 pupils, David Martin, Yee Ting Tsang and Joshua Allan went through to the final with their creation, Phoenix Warrior.
In this year’s Poetry by Heart Competition – Kirsten Macleod and Amy Turnbull, S6 won through to Scottish final of Poetry by Heart competition after being placed 1st and 2nd respectively in local heat.
Sixth year pupil, Innes Johnston, S6 was a recipient of a British Education Award in January 2017.This recognised Innes' achievement of gaining six Grade A, Band 1 passes in six Higher subjects in fifth year.  This achievement was even more impressive as Innes studied for Higher Physics at home without taking the subject in school.
Ross MacPherson, S4 received a Saltire Summit Award from East Dunbarton Voluntary Association for over 200 hours of volunteering/fund raising.
Rachel McLean, S6 has been offered an unconditional place at the Performance course at the Royal Conservatoire Scotland. There are only 4 places for Scottish singers (one for each vocal type) and Rachel was the only soprano in Scotland to have been offered an unconditional place.

Rhiannan Ballard, S6 received an award from Bishopbriggs Community Council for her work with GirlGuiding in Bishopbriggs.

Uthman Mehmood S2, Sorely Johnston S3 and Connor Emordy S3 won 1st, 2nd and 4th place respectively in the EDC Cross Country Championships in February 2017.

S5 pupils, Holly McAllister and Fraser Moodie gained places at the Scottish Space School in June 2017.